Carrots for Michaelmas: Musings of a Catholic Wife, Mother, and Occasional Redhead


Update: Pneumonia :(
February 13, 2012, 1:33 am
Filed under: Misc

As the day wore on I felt crummier and crummier even after 2 steam baths, hot hot tea all day, and several cloves of raw garlic. My temp rose to 100 and I decided to go to Urgent Care since Daniel wasn’t at work and could stay with Benjamin. My mom drove me and Lucy up there. Even though babygirl had no fever and seemed happy, I asked that they take a look at her, too, since she was congested with a snotty nose and some sneezing and coughing. I’m so glad I did! Poor baby girl has bronchial pneumonia and we both have parainfluenza which the Dr. explained is like the flu but not quite as serious. He said it’s all over town and the virus is different from what was in the flu shot which is why I caught it even though I got my flu shot this year. So, we’ve got the humidifier going and the Dr. started Lucy on some antibiotics for the Pneumonia. She’s sleeping upright in her bouncer instead of in bed with me to help with the sinus drainage. Poor sweet girl! Please prayer for her recovery. Pneumonia sounds scary to me for such a little lady. And pray that we can get some sleep tonight so that both of us can get well soon. Unfortunately, the Dr. guessed it would be 7-10 days before we’re back to semi-normal.


5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Will pray! Get well soon! Just discovered your excellent blog. 🙂

Comment by Dom

Thanks for your prayers! 🙂

Comment by carrotsformichaelmas

Oh, no! I hope you and your little Lucy get well soon.

Comment by Amy

Thanks, Amy! I think we’re on the mend.

Comment by carrotsformichaelmas

[…] to everyone whose been praying for Lucy! She seems to be fighting the parainfluenza bug and the bronchial pneumonia really well. No fever so far, praise God. And she’s been sleeping upright in her bouncer to […]

Pingback by Lucy Pneumonia Update « Carrots for Michaelmas: Musings of a Catholic Wife, Mother, and Occasional Redhead




Leave a comment