Carrots for Michaelmas: Musings of a Catholic Wife, Mother, and Occasional Redhead


Our House, Part VIII: The Living Room
November 17, 2011, 4:39 pm
Filed under: Our Home

I finally took some pictures of our living room the other day. Daniel agreed to part with an old armchair that was making things feel cramped. My view was that the chair was looking pretty shabby and nasty after sitting in storage for a few weeks last summer when we were waiting to close on our house…and that’s after it was moved four times in Waco…and that’s after it was bought used for $25 over 5 years ago. It had a good run. Daniel view was that it was super comfortable and generally awesome and still had years of enjoyable usefulness. But he loves me more than the armchair and with nary a grumble, took it to the curb.

Here’s our new armchair, which is actually a hand-me-down from my sweet sister-in-law.

Here’s the view into the kitchen from the front door side of the room. The couch (one of two) used to belong to my grandparents and was previously at my brother’s house. I asked my mom when her parents bought them and she said she can’t remember a time when they didn’t have them when she was growing up. Who knows how old they are! But i LOVE them. The coffee table was a wedding gift from my dear friend Claire.

Couch number two, front door, and key holder from Texas (obvi). The rocking chair was a birthday gift a couple of years ago from dear friend John, Kate, and Luke in Waco. Why is this picture so dark? Oops. I promise that my house isn’t this dark.

View into the dining room. Little writing desk is a hand-me-down from Daniel’s grandma.

I think I removed 8 coats/sweatshirts and 5 bags from that thing before taking this picture.

And because he’s cute:

 


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

My dad & mom would be so pleased to know that their two “loveseats” are continuing their lives of usefulness and service. Here is to many more years of: hospitality, special occasions, holy-days, feasts, etc.!

Comment by Margot Payne




Leave a comment