Carrots for Michaelmas: Musings of a Catholic Wife, Mother, and Occasional Redhead


Preparing for Michaelmas
September 27, 2010, 3:45 pm
Filed under: Feasting, Michaelmas

It’s been a year since I started this project to document our lives and celebrate the Christian Year. Due to job changes, a move across the country, grad school, buying a house, moving in and setting up, starting new jobs, and having all our books still in boxes, it’s been a pretty sporadic project. But since Michaelmas is where it all began, I’m going to try to celebrate the feast again this year. If you’d like to learn more about Michaelmas you can view last year’s post here. If you want to see pictures of our feast last year you can view them here.

I’d really like to take Little Bear to our favorite local nursery and find some Michaelmas Daisies for us to plant together.

“The Michaelmas daisies, among dede weeds,
Bloom for St Michael’s valorous deeds.
And seems the last of flowers that stood,
Till the feast of St. Simon and St. Jude.”

I’m planning on making the same Glazed Carrots as last year from the Pioneer Woman’s recipe. I’ve made them two or three times for other special occasions and anything with that much butter and brown sugar has to be good.

And I think I’m also going to turn to the Pioneer Woman’s Blackberry Cobbler recipe for this year’s blackberry dish.

I haven’t done any big planning for the rest of the meal. Anybody know where I can find a Goose in Tallahassee? Last year we just roasted a turkey but a GOOSE…now that’s ideal.

The weather has turned fallish just in time for Michaelmas which marks the change of season into autumn. Benjamin and I were playing on the porch this morning and he said, “cold!” with a look of surprise and confusion.


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Enjoyed your posts about Michaelmas! I shared them on Facebook and will try to observe a few traditions with friends I’m having over today. I’m in Jacksonville, near Ft. George Island and the Atlantic.

Comment by Kate Matthews

Glad you enjoyed them, Kate! I hope your celebration with your friends is great. You’re not very far away from us!

Haley

Comment by carrotsformichaelmas




Leave a comment