Carrots for Michaelmas: Musings of a Catholic Wife, Mother, and Occasional Redhead


Happy First Birthday, Little Bear
February 8, 2010, 4:11 am
Filed under: Children

Dear Baby Boy,

One year ago today your Papa and I held you for the very first time. We heard your first hearty cry and kissed your precious face.

You arrived just before 8pm after a long long LONG labor. Your Papa and I were both exhausted that night but even after days of laboring I was too excited to sleep. I stayed awake and tried to memorize every inch of your sturdy 8 lb body and watched you sleeping swaddled in your blankie. You were perfect—plenty of beautiful black hair, rosy skin, steel-grey eyes, healthy as a horse.

We had been waiting for you for months. We had loved you for months. But the night you were born, we became a family. Since your arrival, ours lives have been so very full.

I love your pink cheeks and your big brown eyes. I love your squeals of delight when Papa tosses you in the air.

I love your red-brown hair when it sticks up in the morning. I love the way you walk with your hands behind your back like you’re trying to keep them from mischief. I love the babbling noises you make when you read your books. I love when you’re sleepy and you rest your head on my shoulder. I love holding your hand. I love when you wrap your blankie around your shoulders like a cape and giggle as you toddle around. I love how you call our sheep “Baa”s and the cows “Moo”s.

I love your laughter when you splash Papa during bathtime. I love snuggling with you during bedtime prayers and kissing you goodnight. I love being your mother.

 Happy First Birthday, Little Bear. We love you so much.

Mama

And now for some birthday party pictures!

Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting! Success!

 

My family!

 

The Birthday Boy...obviously.

A little bit nervous about everyone singing "Happy Birthday" to him.

Our wonderful housemates and friends!

Obligatory first piece of cake picture

Silly face!

Sweet Birthday Boy!


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love the sleepy hair picture. What a sweet family!

Comment by Katherine Bowers

Thanks! Our good friend John Sterchi took it.

Comment by carrotsformichaelmas

And now I’m in tears. The pictures plus what you wrote just melted my heart. How blessed is Benjamin to have such amazing, loving parents?
I can’t believe it’s been a year. I still remember e-mailing back and forth with your mom who was kind enough to keep me (and others) informed of your status!

(more tears ensue)

Love you much. XX OO to Benjamin.

Comment by Elizabeth




Leave a comment